Long time no see

It seems like I almost forgot about this blog. I sort of left it down into a deep dark hole and never touched it again. Why? I don’t know, really. But I guess the will to type on a keyboard got back to me again, so I hope I will be able to continue this blog a little more.

There have been changes in the way I shoot pictures. Not like keeping my thumb 1 cm lower on the camera body types of changes, but changes to my vision. My artistic vision, that is. When I abandoned this blog I was still into street photography. Now, not so much. Or, am I? The thing is, I’ve been focusing a lot more on the other genre I love, sports. I’ve been doing sports since I was little, and coming to photograph them was sort of a natural progresion. Even though in the last years I haven’t been focusing as much on actually doing the sports in case, I was kept in touch with this area through my other activity besides photography: Timekeeping. Actually, through timekeeping I’ve managed to be the referee or timekeeper of BIG events, like Red Bull Sea to Sky or even Red Bull Romaniacs. But I’m not talking about my life on this blog, so let’s keep moving.

I’m going to do a short rundown of the more important pictures I’ve taken, trying to follow the changes in my style or workflow as I advance.

One big change in my workflow has been learning Photoshop. Not only it opened up lots of opportunities for me to transform my images, but it also gave my imagination freedom to think of unrealistic images that I could possibly come up with. Here is my best example, a 34 layer 900 MB image inspired by sin city posters. I initially watched a tutorial on phlearn on how to do it, then, with the gear I had I did my best to get results as close as the ones explained.Sin-City-Portrait

I also wanted to add more variety to my portfolio as a sports photographer. This is why I went to photograph a local rally. It was one of the first times I felt the effort of staying hours into the rain was actually worth it. After I saw the images, those long hours and the hike to the photo spot proved well worth.

WP_(1_of_9)

WP_(2_of_9)

Another thing I’ve been into is car photography. Although on a small level, I started photographing cars. First at the same local rally I was talking about, next to car events and last at a local dealership. My best car so far has been the merc s63 amg coupe… Lovely car… OK,let’s get back to the point. My family members have worked on car related jobs since I was born, so I was a native car lover already. Combining vehicles with photography was the obvious choice for me.WP_(7_of_9)

WP_(8_of_9)

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

To diversify my portfolio even more, I took pictures at some running competitions around town. At the moment of shooting I wasn’t really pleased of what I got, I wasn’t feeling the moment. When at home though, after importing the pics in lightroom, a smile on my face appeared. After editing a couple picks in Photoshop, that smile only got bigger. I realized I managed to keep an editing style throughout the set while still getting some interesting results. Sure, there are some missed moments here and there, I walked out pleased after all.

WP_(6_of_9)

WP_(5_of_9)

I almost forgot, I also shot some more cycling. From the same series as Maratonul Fagetului , this time though I did the exact opposite to what I did in April. Instead on focusing on the organization, it was all about the riders this time. And here is what came out of it…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

WP_(4_of_9)

So, consider this post as a sort of summer photography summary. Not too long, although I’ll try to go back to the format where after every shoot I’d stop and explain what and how I did. My way may not be the best way or even the right way, but it was the best way for name AT THAT TIME.

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment