Road trip through christianity and comunism

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAIt was “Ziua Mortilor”, in romanian, or, translated, it would be sort of “The day of the dead”. Basicaly, we did a little road trip through Maramures, in Transylvania. The thing is, through Maramures there are not many other things to visit other than churches, monasterys and cemetrys. Sure, you have your beautiful unique gates of Maramures, but there are not many other things to see.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Visiting churches and cemetrys on “The day of the dead” was something that happened by chance, nothing intentional. The one exception to the rule was a comunist prison, but, to be honest, that place ain’t happier than a place full of tombs, so yeah…

DAY 1

First stop was at Sapanta cemetery, or “The happy cemetery”. It’s sort of funny, but when walking into the cemetery you don’t feel sad, the funny texts and ilustrations can’t not cheer someone up.

But wait a second, this is a photography blog, so for more historical facts I highly recommend a website: http://www.wikipedia.com .Maramures OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Probably the first question is: what did I take with me? Well, the selection was quite simple. My Olympus EPM-1 with a spare battery, the kit Olympus 14-42 mm lens and a Canon FD to M43 adapter. That’s because I also took with me a 135mm f2.8 and a 28mm f2.8 old manual lenses. But I’m going to talk more about those lenses in an upcoming post.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

At any point in time I tried to get both wide shots, standard images and telephoto ones. Sure, that implied a lot of lens changes and that meant leaving the sensor exposed for quite a while, but you know what? The sensor is perfectly fine and no dust got in. My only conclusion is that sometimes people treat sensors as being dust vacuum cleaners, which is simply not the case.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The second stop was filled with history. It’s called “Pain’s memorial”, and it’s an ex-comunist prison transformed into a museum that acts as a witness to the cruelty some people endured in Romania’s past. As for what photos go, it wasn’t such a varried enviroment. Here there were mostly wide images, because of two reasons:

1) Each cell was transformed into a sort of a mini-museum, each having its own theme. I didn’t want to photograph walls with articles on them, so what I was left with were the main coridors. And here I could only envision wide pictures.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

2) Being a prison, you would expect it’s not the brightest lit building out there. Since I had to take landscape-like photos, I could use really slow shutter speeds. Firing bursts of half a second exposures with IS was something usual, but it allowed me to get into some really dark places, like certain inmate cells.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There also was this wall with the names of ex-prisoners (not all of them, many have not yet been identified) written all over. I wanted to take two images of this, one to show the overall context and the other one to focus on the names of the inmates.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The last stop was at an old wooden church. To be fully honest, this one didn’t impress me that much, but it was still a great photographic oportunity.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

DAY 2

Day 2 was also going to be the last day of the trip.We had two more locations to go visit, and the first one was another old church, this one being part of the UNESCO world heritage. The exterior was nice and beautifully kept. In order to get the whole church in frame I had to back up quite a bit. I finally found a spot where there would be no tree branches coming into the shot and I would still get it all with my 14mm lens (with a 2X crop factor, of course).OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The interior was also beautiful, but I only stayed with one image because of this: It was really cramed inside, and adding a real lack of light, I couldn’t get any other usable shots. But hey, I’m proud of the image I kept of the inside, so I’m good with it! 🙂 (look it up in the flickr set)

The last and, in my opinion best, location was Barsana monestery. I was amazed a place like that existed in Romania. Everything was amazingly well kept, you saw no garbage or dirt on any of the alleys (and that’s not rare at all where I live). The buildings were recently restored, looking better than ever while preserving their value.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Also, the sun was in a good enough spot, and I think those elements combined gave some pictures I’m really proud of…OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

As a conclusion, please visit these links to see the full sets, and consider visiting Maramures at least for a couple of days, since it’s one of the most amazing places for taking photos in Transilvania. Heck, in Romania too!

Day 1: http://bit.ly/MaramuDayOne

Day 2: http://bit.ly/MaramuDayTwo

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stupariufiliptudor

Twitter: @tudoraxr

G+: https://plus.google.com/117323268606776694097/posts

Instagram: @tudoraxr

 

Leave a comment